Archivio Disarmo awards Colomba d’oro per la pace 2011 to Marguerite Barankitse

The panel of judges for Archivio Disarmo’s Colombe d’oro per la pace (Golden Doves for Peace), presided by Rita Levi-Montalcini (Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1986), awarded Marguerite Barankitse its international prize in Rome on 8 June 2011. The Colombe d'oro, which are in their 27th year, are awarded to those fighting to find non-violent solutions to conflicts, regardless of their political, national or religious beliefs, in the world of information and in society. The prize was awarded to Marguerite Barankitse in recognition of her lifelong devotion to others and her ability to turn the experience of hate into love. Previous winners of the prize include Jane Goodall, Yossi Beilin, Daniel Barenboim, Mohamed ElBaradei, Nelson Mandela, Olof Palme and Mikhail Gorbachev. Attributing this prize to an African woman is also an expression of support for the NOPPAW (Nobel Peace Prize for African Women) campaign.